The North Pole Marathon is run over the classic 42.195km (26.2 miles ) marathon distance. The race encompasses an individual competiton, with male and female divisions, and a team competition for teams of three or more.


  • Member of the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races
  • Only certified marathon that is run entirely ‘on’ water, the frozen water of  the Arctic Ocean
  • Recognised  by Guinness World Records as the Northernmost Marathon on Earth
  • Dubbed  the ‘World’s Coolest Marathon’ by Runner’s World magazine in 2004
  • The first North Pole Marathon occured on 5th April 2002 when Richard Donovan (IRL) ran the distance alone
  • There have been 11 North Pole Marathons to date
  • Approximately  300 people from 40 nations have sucessfully completed the event
  • It’s impossible to predict winning times because weather conditions and terrain are variable from one year to the next
  • The men’s record of 3:36:10 was set by Thomas Maguire (IRL) in 2007
  • The women’s record of 4:53:10 was set by Fiona Oakes (GBR) in 2013
  • Two guided blind athletes, Mark Pollock and Jamie Cuthbertson, completed the race in 2004 and 2010, respectively
  • In 2007, William Tan – a wheelchair competitor – completed a marathon  distance on the aircraft runway
  • Participants are eligible to join the exclusive Marathon Grand Slam Club by finishing a marathon on each of the seven continents and the North Pole Marathon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s